Seared Tuna with Cuban Mojo

This was pretty quick and tasty.  I started making the mojo sauces for cuban sandwhiches and fired plaintains and thought I’d try it out with some tuna for a sauce and it worked pretty well, the lime compliments the tuna very well as I think you’d probably guess.  A traditional mojo has a whole lot of oil in it because its mostly used for marinades but because I didn’t want to drown my fish in oil I used just enough for the garlic.  I also chose to add some heat to the tuna with some cayenne pepper, but of course that’s optional.  I also served it with grapes and rice with raisins and peanuts.

Serves 2

Seared Tuna with Cuban Mojo
2 6 oz Tuna Steaks
4 cloves garlic, crushed and minced
2 limes, juiced
1 orange, juiced
olive oil
cayenne pepper
salt and pepper

1. Sprinkle cayenne pepper on both sides of tuna steak and set aside.

2. Heat up a quick drizzle of olive oil in a pan on medium-high for the tuna.

3. Heat up some olive oil in a small pot and add the garlic, cook until fragrant, add the fruit juices and salt and pepper to taste.  Turn heat to low or pull off stove so it doesn’t burn while you cook the tuna.

4. Sear the tuna 2-3 minutes on both sides (I prefer a medium rare).

5. Let the tuna rest for a couple minutes and then slice into 1/2 inch strips.

6. Pour mojo sauce over fish.

Leave a Reply

